Giving Jesus all

Monica & I are part of a small group that worked through Not A FanNot a Fan by Kyle Idleman by Kyle Idleman (RightNow Media subscribers can access it here). It challenged us to examine our commitment to Jesus, whether we’re following Him closely or keeping a safe distance.

Here are a couple quotes that continue to resonate with me…

C.S. Lewis in his book Mere Christianity summarizes the call of Jesus this way: “Give me all. I don’t want so much of your time and so much of your money and so much of your work: I want you… No half-measures are any good. I don’t want to cut off a branch here or a branch there. I want to have the whole tree down. I don’t want to drill the tooth, or crown it, or stop it, but to have it out. Hand over the whole natural self, all the desires which you think are innocent as well as they ones you think are wicked – the whole outfit.”

::– –::– –::

We say to Jesus, “I don’t mind you making some changes in my life,’ but Jesus wants to turn your life upside down. We say, “I don’t mind a little touch-up work,” but Jesus wants complete renovation. We’re thinking tune-up; He’s thinking overhaul. We think a little decorating, why not; but Jesus wants a complete remodel.

The author most helpfully points out that becoming a more committed follower of Jesus is not the result of me simply trying harder. It’s about my old self dying and my new self awaking –

a Christ-filled, hope saturated, love-centered person resurrecting with the new day.

This is the good work the Holy Spirit does in me.


I also quoted Not a Fan a couple years ago
here.

3 thoughts on “Giving Jesus all

  1. Jodelle Zimmerman says:

    Jesus leads the way. He emptied himself for us. But you’re right. It’s a tremendous challenge.

    Like

  2. SjG says:

    Indeed! Thanks, Jodie! ~Stanley

    Like

  3. Carla Walhof says:

    Very much enjoyed Not a Fan…

    Like

Leave a Reply

