Saying “Here I am” to the One who says “Here am I”

I’ve loved Daniel L. Schutte’s song “Here I Am, Lord” ever since I first heard it years ago. It’s a beautiful expression of offering our lives to God. I love the song even more now having read Dale Vander Veen connect our dedication in saying, “Here I am” with God declaring to us, “Here am I.” The following reflections were written by Dale and appear here with this gracious permission.

::– –::– –::

When God called to Abraham, Abraham respondedHere I am.” When the angel of the Lord called to Abraham, Abraham again responded, “Here I am.

When the angel of God called to Jacob in a dream, Jacob responded, “Here I am.” When God called to Jacob in a night vision, Jacob again responded, “Here I am.

When God called to Moses from a bush, Moses responded, “Here I am.

When the Lord called three times to Samuel, each time Samuel went to Eli and said, “Here I am; you called me.” When the Lord called a fourth time to Samuel, Samuel, following Eli’s advice, responded, “Speak, for your servant is listening.”

Isaiah “saw the Lord, high and exalted, seated on a throne.” When he then “heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?’” Isaiah responded, “Here am I. Send me!”

Sobering words of call from God, stirring words of response from the called. When I hear God calling, like Abraham, Jacob, Moses, Samuel, and Isaiah, I must say, “Here I am.” But surely, there must be fear in their words and in mine. I am willing, Lord, but am I ready? I am available, but am I able? Willing heart, but also queasy stomach, dry mouth, shaking hands, quivering lips.

To every person who has ever heard a call from God and responded “in weakness with great fear and trembling,” these words come from God to and through Isaiah: “You will call, and the Lord will answer; you will cry for help, and he will say, ‘Here am I.’”

God calls. I respond, “Here I am.”
I call. God responds, “Here am I.”


Contact
Dale Vander Veen to receive his free, biblical, inspiring
daily devotional emails:
dalevanderveen@sbcglobal.net.

Leave a Reply

